No Comments
On October 9, 2020

Southwark has elected a new Leader of the Council, Keiron Williams, and he is joined by a new cabinet. The transport portfolio has been split amongst two cabinet members, Johnson Situ, Cabinet Member for Climate Emergency, Planning & Transport, and Catherine Rose, Cabinet Member for Leisure, Environment & Roads. They are also joined by Radha Burgess, who is acting as Deputy Cabinet Member for Low Traffic.

We want the new Cabinet to understand the need for bold action across the borough. Email them that you’d like to see more Streetspace measures, particularly low traffic neighbourhoods and protected cycleways.

We suggest you write an email in your own words, even if it’s just a few sentences. If you’re really short on time, we’ve included a sample email below.


Re: Improving Southwark’s Streets for Walking and Cycling

Dear Councillors,

Congratulations on your new roles in Southwark Council’s cabinet. Southwark Council has implemented and announced many great schemes as part of its Streetspace Programme. The pop-up cycle lanes, low traffic neighbourhoods and schools streets have had such a positive impact on my journeys. I’m concerned with the increasing traffic on Southwark’s roads, and their impacts on climate change, air pollution, and my safety. I’m hoping you’ll support more of these measures to enable more people to walk and cycle in Southwark.

Submit a Comment